the new zealand marmite famine.

DSCF2381

Seeing as I wrote about ANZAC biscuits the other day, I thought I ought to continue the New Zealand theme and write about the latest disaster to hit New Zealand: the marmite famine.

Marmite is the best spread, in the world, ever. And the vast majority of non-New Zealanders hate it. They loathe and detest it. This is mainly because it has an extremely strong flavour. It claims to be a yeast spread but it doesn’t really taste like yeast. It does taste like something, but I’m not entirely sure what. It’s yummy, though.

Anyhoo, as you may have heard, a massive earthquake hit New Zealand in February of last year and on top of every other awful thing that resulted – it knocked over the Marmite factory. Sanitarium, who make marmite, didn’t say anything about this for yonks, until yesterday they released a press statement that essentially said: there’s two weeks worth of stock left, and after that, there’s going to be none until July.

So the country went mad, and now there is no stock left. Essentially, media hype created a marmite feeding frenzy because none of us want to be without it for three or four months. I checked, and I have half a 500g jar left, and I wanted to buy more – but by the time we went looking, at around seven last night, it was all gone.

To give you an idea of how amazing marmite is – when I went on exchange for a year, I dedicated 1kg of my 20kg suitcase weight to marmite.

I’m definitely going to be rationing my half a jar.

1 Comment

  1. Excellent site you have here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • what am I doing?

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • pretties from the past

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.